Inicio|Registrarse | Entrada HolaVisitante|RSS
[ Mensajes nuevos · Usuarios · Normas del foro · Buscar · RSS ]
  • Página 1 de 1
  • 1
Moderador del foro: jarpomarx, -EkIkE-  
Forum » Videos » Videos en DVD » Bangles: Return to Bangleonia - Live in Concert (2007) ((DVD5))
Bangles: Return to Bangleonia - Live in Concert (2007)
unica723Fecha: Lunes, 2014-08-04, 5:41 PM | Mensaje # 1
Grupo: Administradores
Mensajes: 15967
Reputación: 121
Estatus: Offline
Bangles: Return to Bangleonia - Live in Concert (2007)

Video: NTSC, MPEG-2 at 5 039 Kbps, 720 x 480 at 29.970 fps | Audio: AC-3 2ch. at 224 Kbps, AC-3 6ch. at 448 Kbps
Genre: Rock | Label: Shout Factory | Copy: Untouched | Release Date: 14 Aug 2007 | Runtime: 95 min. | 4,08 GB (DVD5)

The Bangles combined the chiming riffs and catchy melodies of British Invasion
guitar pop with a hint of the energy of new wave. In the process, they
became one of the handful of all-female bands of the '80s to win both
critical and commercial success. The critical success came first with
their self-titled debut EP and full-length album, All Over the Place and
popular success arrived once they polished their sound, added some
synthesizers, and deviated slightly from their trademark jangling guitar
hooks. Once they were selling at the platinum level, The Bangles didn't
stay together long, but they left several pop gems behind them.
The group's original lineup formed in 1981, when guitarist/vocalist
Vicki Peterson and drummer/vocalist Debbi Peterson responded to an
advertisement that guitarist/vocalist Susanna Hoffs had placed in a
local Los Angeles paper, The Recycler. Taking the name The Bangs, the
girls rounded out their ranks with bassist Annette Zilinskas and
released an EP, Getting Out of Hand, on their own independent label,
Downkiddie. They had to change their name early the following year to
The Bangles, since there was already a New York-based group called The
Bangs. After an appearance on a Rodney on the ROQ compilation and a
series of local concerts, Miles Copeland signed The Bangles to the IRS
subsidiary Faulty Products and landed them an opening spot for The
English Beat. That summer, The Bangles released a self-titled EP on
Faulty Products.
In early 1983, The Bangles signed with CBS Records and Zilinskas left
the band to join Blood on the Saddle. She was replaced by
bassist/vocalist Michael Steele, a former member of the proto-punk hard
rock group The Runaways. The group released its first full-length album,
All Over the Place, in the summer of 1984. While it didn't feature any
charting singles, the record managed to climb to number 80 on the
American charts, a feat that owed equally to college radio, MTV, and
strong reviews. In particular, a cover of Katrina & the Waves'
"Goin' Down to Liverpool" and the original "Hero Takes a Fall" received
heavy airplay on college stations across the country.
The Bangles released their second album, Different Light, during the
spring of 1986. It was preceded by the colorful, neo-psychedelic single
"Manic Monday," which was written by Prince under the pseudonym
Christopher. "Manic Monday" became a number two hit in both America and
Britain, sending Different Light into the Top Five as well. A cover of
Jules Shear's "If She Knew What She Wants" was a relative commercial
disappointment, stalling at number 29 on the U.S. charts, but the third
single from Different Light, "Walk Like an Egyptian," was another major
hit, spending four weeks at number one in America. It also peaked at
number three in Britain. After The Bangles completed a summer tour,
Hoffs starred in the movie The Allnighter, which was directed by her
mother, Tamara. The film was released during the summer of 1987 and
bombed at the box office, putting a fast stop to Hoffs' potential acting
career. Meanwhile, "Walking Down Your Street," the final single pulled
from Different Light, was released in early 1987 and peaked at number
Later that year, The Bangles recorded a hard-rocking version of Paul
Simon's "Hazy Shade of Winter" for the Less Than Zero soundtrack. The
single peaked at number two in early 1988, and the band's third album,
Everything, was released that fall. Everything was a slicker affair than
either of band's previous records, but it didn't perform quite as well
as Different Light. "In Your Room," the album's lead single, made it to
number five, and the ballad "Eternal Flame" became the group's second
number one single in early 1989. Even so, the record ran out of steam
shortly after the release of its third single, "Be with You," which
never made it past number 30. After a brief summer tour, the group
disbanded and Hoffs began a solo career with 1991's When You're a Boy.
The album never made it past number 83, though, and the single "My Side
of the Bed" stalled at number 30. While in the midst of recording her
second album, Hoffs was dropped from Columbia's roster.
Meanwhile, Vicki Peterson toured as a member of the Go-Go's (replacing
the pregnant Charlotte Caffey from 1994 to 1995) and joined the
Continental Drifters alongside future sister-in-law Susan Cowsill. Debbi
Peterson teamed up with Siobhan Maher to form the duo Kindred Spirit,
and Steele played in several short-lived bands after failing to land a
solo deal. In 1998, the bandmembers began to drift back together,
teaming up for the first time in nearly a decade to record a song for
the second Austin Powers film. A tour followed in 2000. For the next two
years, the reunited Bangles worked on Doll Revolution, which appeared
in 2003 and marked Steele's final performance with the band. She left in
early 2004, reportedly frustrated with the band's inability to tour a
sufficient amount behind the album. The Bangles continued playing in her
absence, with hired gun Abby Travis handling bass duties during the
group's smattering of tour dates.
During the decade's second half, Hoffs recorded a pair of cover albums
with Matthew Sweet. Both albums were produced by Sweet himself, and when
it came time to find a producer for The Bangles' fifth record, Hoffs
didn't have far to look. The result, Sweetheart of the Sun, was released
in September 2011.

- Susanna Hoffs: Vocals, Guitar
- Debbi Peterson: Vocals, Drums
- Vicki Peterson: Vocals, Lead Guitar
- Michael Steele: Vocals, Bass

01. Hazy Shade of Winter [3:03]
02. Live [3:14]
03. If She Knew What She Wants [3:58]
04. Between the Two [3:30]
05. The Rain Song [3:39]
06. Manic Monday [3:50]
07. Here Right Now [3:36]
08. September Gurls [3:12]
09. Going Down to Liverpool [4:01]
10. I Will Take Care of You [4:19]
11. Get the Girl [3:15]
12. In Your Room [3:26]
13. Stealing Rosemary [3:45]
14. Angels Don't Fall in Love [3:29]
15. Hero Takes a Fall [5:44]
16. Walk Like an Egyptian [4:04]
17. Pushin' Too Hard [4:58]
18. Eternal Flame [6:34]

- Band Commentary
- Bonus Acoustic Performances: Manic Monday
- Ride the Ride
- The Story of Bangleonia
- Photo Gallery

- Direct Scene Access
- Interactive Menu

Disponible sólo a los usuarios
Archivos adjuntos: 2651147.jpeg(44.6 Kb)

Forum » Videos » Videos en DVD » Bangles: Return to Bangleonia - Live in Concert (2007) ((DVD5))
  • Página 1 de 1
  • 1

Hoy nos han visitado:

Este sitio no contiene ningún tipo de fichero ó archivo que viole la propiedad intelectual.
Somos un foro gratuito y sin ningun lucro implicito.
EsparaelMetal no se hace responsable de cualquier posible violacion a cosa con copyright.
Todo lo aquí publicado ha sido encontrado en el libre internet.
EsparaelMetal@2010 Algunos derechos reservados

Web optimizada para una resolucion de 1024x768

Copyright MyCorp © 2020