Inicio|Registrarse | Entrada HolaVisitante|RSS
[ Mensajes nuevos · Usuarios · Normas del foro · Buscar · RSS ]
  • Página 1 de 1
  • 1
Moderador del foro: jarpomarx, -EkIkE-  
Forum » Videos » Videos en DVD » Maggie Bell and Midnight Flyer -Live Montreux July 1981 2007 ((DVD5))
Maggie Bell and Midnight Flyer -Live Montreux July 1981 2007
unica723Fecha: Viernes, 2014-08-01, 1:09 PM | Mensaje # 1
Grupo: Administradores
Mensajes: 15967
Reputación: 121
Estatus: Offline
Maggie Bell and Midnight Flyer - Live Montreux July 1981 (2007)

Video: NTSC, MPEG-2 at 5 541 Kbps, 720 x 480 at 29.970 fps | Audio: AC-3 2ch. at 192 Kbps, AC-3 5ch. at 448 Kbps
Genre: Rock, Blues | Label: Angel Air | Copy: Untouched | Release Date: 24 April 2007 | Runtime: 90 min. | 4,28 GB (DVD5)

From a musical family, she sang from her teenage years, leaving school at the age of
fifteen, to work as a window dresser by day and singer at night. Bell
was introduced to Leslie Harvey, by his older brother Alex, after
getting up on stage to sing with the latter. Leslie Harvey was, at that
time, a guitarist with the Kinning Park Ramblers. Bell joined the group
as one of the vocalists. After the band split up, Bell moved to the
Mecca Band at the Sauchiehall Street Locarno, and later to the
Dennistoun Palais Band.
She then rejoined Harvey, forming Power initially known as The Power of
Music and eventually The Power. Bell and The Power regularly performed
at The Easterhouse Project, run by Archie Hind and Graeme Noble. They
also toured United States Air Force bases Germany in the mid 1960s.
Peter Grant, who was managing The Yardbirds at the time, heard Power
playing at one of these bases and agreed to produce and manage them,
impressed by the vocal ability of Bell and the guitar playing of Harvey.
Power was then renamed as Stone the Crows, an expression used by Grant
upon hearing this band.
Stone the Crows split up in 1973, after Leslie Harvey's accidental death
from electrocution on 2 May 1972. Harvey had been an integral part of
the band and its music. Peter Grant remained as Bell's manager after the
split, and along with Mark London offered to help Bell record a solo
album. She subsequently recorded two further albums for Atlantic
Records, one produced by Felix Pappalardi and the other produced by
Felix Cavaliere. Neither has yet been released. Grant then oversaw her
first solo album release Queen of the Night (1973), which was recorded
in New York with record producer Jerry Wexler.
Bell signed to the then newly formed Swan Song Records in 1974, along
with Bad Company and The Pretty Things, as one of the first signings to
the label. Jimmy Page contributed to her second album Suicide Sal
(1975). Bell then tried to capture past blues rock glories by fronting
Midnight Flyer, a phenomenal live act but their sole eponymous album
released in 1981 was not a commercial success. Jimmy Page put together a
tribute album to Maggie featuring Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, as
well as John Bonham, having Mark Hitt on guitar
Returning to a solo career, she had her biggest hit in the UK in 1981
duetting with B. A. Robertson on a cover version of "Hold Me" which
reached #11 in the UK Singles Chart. Bell also performed at many charity
gigs during this period.
Bell sang the end credits theme for the late 1970s ITV detective drama
Hazell, with lyrics written by Judy Forrest and music by Andy Mackay.
Her song "No Mean City", written by Mike Moran, was the theme music to
the TV crime drama Taggart. She also appeared in a single episode of
Taggart called "Evil Eye" in 1990, playing a gypsy fortune teller named
Effie Lambie who is murdered early in the episode.
In 2009 she provided the singing voice of rock singer Esme Ford (played
by Joanna Lumley) in the episode "Counter Culture Blues" of the ITV
series Lewis.
After living in the Netherlands for twenty years, Bell returned to the
UK in early 2006 and joined The British Blues Quintet, sharing lead
vocals with Zoot Money. Also featuring former Stone The Crows drummer
Colin Allen and bassist Colin Hodgkinson, the band quickly became
established on the UK and European live blues circuit. Their debut
album, Live in Glasgow (2007), was recorded at one of their first gigs,
on Glasgow's Renfrew Ferry in 2006. In addition, Bell toured with Chris
Farlowe in the autumn of 2006 and The Manfreds during 2006 and 2008.

- Maggie Bell: vocals
- Tony Stevens: bass
- Ant Glynne: guitar
- Chris Parren: keyboards
- Dave Dowle: drums

01. Intro [0:23]
02. Hey Boy [3:14]
03. Danger Money [5:38]
04. Love Games [4:41]
05. Sweet Loving Woman [5:54]
06. Poor Little Jimmy [3:40]
07. Rough Trade [4:10]
08. French Kisses [4:28]
09. Too Much Love [6:07]
10. Penicillin Blues [8:05]
Bonus Track:
11. Bring It on Home to Me (With Tal Mahal) [5:15]
12. Chain Gang (With Taj Mahal) [5:13]
13. Blues Jam (With Albert Collins) [6:22]
14. Stormy Monday Blues (With Albert Collins) [6:05]

- Maggie Bell Interview
- Band History
- Biography

- Direct Scene Access
- Interactive Menu

Disponible sólo a los usuarios
Archivos adjuntos: 4736824.jpeg(26.3 Kb)

Forum » Videos » Videos en DVD » Maggie Bell and Midnight Flyer -Live Montreux July 1981 2007 ((DVD5))
  • Página 1 de 1
  • 1

Hoy nos han visitado:
shelekhov2, mjmurero

Este sitio no contiene ningún tipo de fichero ó archivo que viole la propiedad intelectual.
Somos un foro gratuito y sin ningun lucro implicito.
EsparaelMetal no se hace responsable de cualquier posible violacion a cosa con copyright.
Todo lo aquí publicado ha sido encontrado en el libre internet.
EsparaelMetal@2010 Algunos derechos reservados

Web optimizada para una resolucion de 1024x768

Copyright MyCorp © 2021